Xmas Ледоруб!


Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Last summer, hiking in the Cascades and the Canadian Rockies, I kept finding myself in steep snowfields, wishing for an ice axe. In the mountains, an ice axe is essential for self-arrest: if you slip and fall on a steep slope and start sliding, a properly wielded ice axe can keep you from flying off the mountain. I mentioned my wish for an ice axe a couple of times on the Blonde Coyote (here and here) and apparently Drew was reading and taking notes, because this Christmas there was a Black Diamond Raven Pro Ice Axe under the tree for me! Let the ice axe-worthy mountain scheming begin!

I learned my ice axe lessons a few years ago in Ecuador, where I climbed two volcanoes, 18,900-foot Cayambe and 19,200-foot Cotopaxi, alpine-style, with a rope team. I borrowed an older, heavy Black Diamond ice axe for the trip…

View original post ещё 367 слов

Добавить комментарий

